Leadership & History

Preserving the history of our previous leaders before us so we may continue on the right path they set forth.

Congratulations to the new Board of Directors 2023 – 2024.


We would like to welcome you to our church “Spiritualist Church of the Good Samaritan,” which was founded in 1950 by Reverends Allan and Beryl Hinz. We have been at our present location in Clarkston, Michigan since 1970. Our church is chartered through the Independent Spiritualist Association of the United States of America (I.S.A.), a national organization which believes and practices Spiritualism as a Science, Philosophy, and Religion.

Spiritualist Church of the Good Samaritan is a non-profit organization.

Rev. Allan Hinz

  • Co-Founder of Spiritualist Church of the Good Samaritan
  • Ordained: June 28, 1974
  • Passed: November 3, 1979
  • Served as President for 26 years

Beryl Hinz

  • Co-Founder of Spiritualist Church of the Good Samaritan
  • Ordained: September 19, 1976
  • Served as Assistant Pastor & Secretary
  • Passed: November 2, 2003


  • 5401 Oak Park Drive, P.O. Box 62, Clarkston, MI
  • June 21, 1951 to September 22, 1979
  • Good Samaritan Church Mortgage Burning September 22, 1979

It was a momentous day when we received our first Ecclesiastical Charter through the Independent Spiritualist Association of America. The Charter was presented by Reverends Malcolm Riddell and Bessie Wells from the I.S.A. The Board Included:

  • Allan Hinz, President
  • Jennie Ridley, Vice President
  • Blanche McLauchlin, Secretary
  • Velma Taylor, Treasurer
  • Howard Taylor, 1st Trustee
  • Warren Organ, 2nd Trustee
  • Ada McLauchin, 3rd Trustee

“As the Sunflower Turns its Face to the Light of the Sun, so Spiritualism Turns the Face of Humanity to the Light of Truth.”

The small group struggled with the use of several rented facilities to spread the Truths of Spiritualism. In 1958 the members decided to make use of a home at 4780 Hillcrest Drive in Waterford, MI. However, a new charter needed to be issued for the Waterford Township home. The Charter issued on March 15, 1964. The charter was presented by Rev. Harry M. Hilborn and Nettie Riddell from the I.S.A. The Board included:

  • Allan Hinz, President
  • Frances Higgins, Vice President
  • Alberta Denmark, Secretary
  • Harold Denmark, Treasurer
  • Beryl Hinz, 1st Trustee
  • Dorothy Wyllie, 2nd Trustee

Church Firsts

  • First Silver Tea: June 25, 1970
  • First Marriage Service: June 27, 1970
  • First Worship Service: June 28, 1970
  • First Baptism Service: August 28, 1970

The dedication of the completed church was held on September 20, 1970, with the Rev. Harry M. Hilborn officiating. The church board was included:

  • Rev. Allan Hinz, Pastor & President
  • L. Alberta Denmark, Secretary
  • Edward Ross, Treasurer
  • Dorothy Graves, 1st Trustee
  • Claude Harper, 2nd Trustee
  • Beryl Hinz, 3rd Trustee

The Charter for Clarkston was presented by Rev. Harry Hilborn and Nettie Riddell from the I.S.A. We are proud to say we have had several pastors over time.

Penny Offering: A building fund was established and the little “wooden church” was introduced to take a “penny offering.” When the church needed the down payment to start the building, the “little wooden church” donations provided over $900.00

Fundraisers: Through the years we have had many activities as fundraisers. Some include: White Elephant Auction, Rummage Sales, and Bake sales held at Reverend Al’s Waterford Hardware Store, Candy sales by the membership, Spiritual Psychic Silver Tea each month, and filling jars with Bible verses written on paper and placed in a gelatin capsule which was called a “Spiritual Vitamin”, along with summer picnics, and The annual Melting Pot Pig Roast.

Special Breakfast: Many Easters we have entertained a Sunrise Service at 8am followed by a pancake and ham breakfast which we hope all is remembered along with many Mother’s Day and Father’s Day breakfast celebrations. All open to the public.

Previous Pastors

  • Rev. Carolee Polan, Retired: 11/2015
  • Rev. Sandra Nelson, Passed: 12/2020
  • Rev. Patricia Nelson, Retired: 02/2022

Present Board of Directors 2023 – 2024

  • Nancy Hack, President
  • Stacy Buck, Vice President & 1st Trustee
  • Denise Muckenhirn, Secretary & 3rd Trustee
  • Douglas Buck, Treasurer
  • Carol Kalvelage-Bohn, 2nd Trustee

Special Thanks!

Through the years we want to remember all who have been a part of this church, whether as a member, friend or neighbor. Many thanks from the Church Board and Membership, however you may have helped, know that your efforts past and present, have been and always will be well appreciated. With your help it has been possible for this church to grow and celebrate our past endeavors along with the ability moving forward harmoniously by helping others learn our Religion of Spiritualism.